Focus on People and Environment

My expertise covers the interaction between human being, environment and technology. Applied in Integrated Water Management, in Flood Protection, Food Security and Transport for Planning, Implementation, Monitoring and Evaluation: The services target the balance between human being and his environment by knowledge transfer and applied informatics.

SPATIAL SCIENCES AND GEOMATICS

Research and operating experience in the fields of environmental resources management enable the target-oriented development of databases and GIS-Models. The tight interlinkage of consulting and development was proofed in more than 50 projects in over 20 countries.

Development tools comprising  C# .Net, ASP .Net, PostgreSql, Oracle, ArcObjects, MapWindow and others.

FLOOD PROTECTION AND FLOOD MANAGEMENT

Since 15 years Geo-Solutions is engaged in developing geo-based management information systems and geotechnical expert systems in the area of flood control and plant/levee safety. The intensification of information quality through the combination of Geographical Information-System with Databases and Document Management Systems helps optimizing the quality and reaction time of decisions.

INTEGRATED WATER MANAGEMENT

The internationally recognized water policy concept of Integrated Water Resources Management (IWRM) is a process which targets sustainable development through coordinated management of water, land and human being. Geographical Information Systems and related data collection networks are essential tools for the establishment of the necessary accurate planning basis.

DEVELOPMENT COORPORATION

Education and stability are condiments for social development. Basic needs like water supply, sanitation and food security are to be guaranteed  for a better equity and social justice. Since 20 years, Geo-Solutions is developing solutions in the fields of water management, transport and food security. Stakeholder dialogs, knowledge transfer and capacity development help identifying global threads by climate change and resource degradation and developing appropriate counter measures. Custom-tailored information systems, models and thematic mapping help defining appropriate measures to fight these threads and to minimize risks.

Project gallery

Brief presentation of projects from 20 years of consulting

see projects...
Map gallery

Maps from 20 years of geomatics and mapping

see maps...
Foto gallery

Colorful pictures from 20 years of development cooperation

see fotos...
  • Belize: Institutional Development of the Sugar Industry Management Information System SIMIS
  • Vietnam: Irrigation Management Information System
  • Paestinian Authorities: benchmarking of water service providers
  • Congo Basin: Water Information System
  • Caribbean: Climate Change Adaption & Protection of Marine Biodiversity
  • Burkina Faso: Monitoring of the Rural Drinking Water Sector – Achieving the Millennium Goals
  • Congo Basin: Improvement of Inland Navigation
  • Benin: Preliminary Screening, Feasibility and Roads Prioritization Study
  • Mosambik: ICT4Agriculture support in Contract Farming

Experience and skills

24

Countries

4

Continents

4

Languages

53

International projects

Tools and  soft skills

The manifold project objectives of the different fields demand for a combination of soft skills and expertise. Modern information management is inconceivable without ICT solutions. Geographical information systems are an important basis for the understanding of natural, complex and dynamic relations of resource conflicts. Databases and document management systems facilitate access to the plurality of existing information. Decision support systems enhance the quality of the work of the decision-makers.

Participatory approach and stakeholder dialogs at the start, during and after a system’s development are means to better adapt systems to the needs of future users. At the very end, an information system has to be tailored . The readiness to share information and to concertedly manage an information platform is a basic and indispensable requirement for information management.

Information management0
Stakeholder dialog0
IT development0
Geomatics and mapping0

Please contact me

Dr. Dipl.-Ing. Dipl.-Geol. Ralph Elsaesser

Thank you for using the contact form to request further information or my CV in one of four languages.

KONTAKT

Contracting authorities/Customers

International and National Organizations

Consulting firms

Geo Solutions | Aktive Geo-Informatik
20631
home,page,page-id-20631,page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,select-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,select-theme-ver-2.3,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.5.3,vc_responsive

FOKUS MENSCH UND UMWELT

Mein Arbeitsfeld umfasst die Schnittstellen zwischen Mensch, Umwelt und Technik. Ob im Hochwasserschutz, in der Integrierten Wasserwirtschaft oder der Ernährungssicherung, sei es bei Planung, Durchführung, Monitoring oder Evaluierung: meine Dienstleistungen suchen die Balance zwischen dem Menschen und seiner Umwelt über den Einsatz von Wissenstransfer und Technik.

Geoinformatik

Meine Expertise im umweltbezogenen Ressourcenmanagement hilft Datenbanken und GIS-Anwendungen abgestimmt und zielorientiert zu entwickeln. Die enge Verzahnung von Beratungsleistung und IT-Entwicklung bewährte sich in mehr als 50 Projekte und über 20 Ländern.

Entwicklungstools umfassen C# .Net, ASP .Net, PostgreSql, Oracle, ArcObjects, MapWindow und andere.

Hochwasserschutz

Seit 15 Jahren entwickelt Geo-Solutions geobasierte Management-Informationsysteme und Geotechnische Expertensysteme im Bereich Hochwasserschutz und Anlagensicherheit. Der durch den Verbund aus Geoinformationssystem, Datenbank und Dokumentenmanagement erzeugte Informationszuwachs unterstützt das Management der Anlagen und optimiert Qualität und Reaktionszeit der Entscheidungen.

INTEGRIERTE WASSERWIRTSCHAFT

Das international anerkannte Leitbild der Integrierten Wasserwirtschaft zeichnet einen Prozess, der durch koordiniertes Management von Wasser, Land und Mensch auf eine nachhaltige Entwicklung zielt. Die dafür notwendige Planungsgrundlage kann ohne (Geo-)Informationssysteme und deren Netzwerke zu Datenerfassung und -austausch nicht erstellt werden.

Entwicklungs-Zusammenarbeit

Gesellschaftliche Entwicklung ist ohne Bildung und Sicherheit nicht denkbar. Grundbedürfnisse wie Wasserversorgung und Ernährungssicherheit sind zu bedienen, um eine höhere Gerechtigkeit zu erreichen. Seit über 20 Jahren arbeitet Geo-Solutions weltweit an Lösungen in den Bereichen Wasserwirtschaft, Transport und Ernährungssicherheit. Mittels Dialog, Wissenstransfer und Kapazitätsaufbau werden Bedrohungen aus Klimawandel und Ressourcendegradation sichtbar gemacht und passende Maßnahmen entwickelt. Maßgeschneiderte Informationssysteme, Modelle und thematische Kartografie helfen bei der Identifikation von geeigneten Schritten im Kampf gegen diese Gefahren und können so dazu beitragen, Risiken zu minimieren.

Projektgalerie

Kurzdarstellung von Projekten aus 20 Jahren Consultingtätigkeit

Zu den Projekten
Map-Galerie

Karten aus 20 Jahren Geoinformatik und Kartografie

Zur Map Galerie
Fotogalerie

Bunte Bilder aus 20 Jahren Entwicklungszusammenarbeit

Zur Fotogalerie
  • Brunnen mit Handpumpe
    Burkina Faso: Monitoring der Entwicklung des Wassersektors zur Erreichung der Millenniumsziele
  • Pitons
    Karibik: Anpassung an den Klimawandel & Schutz der Marinen Biodiversität
  • Trucks up North
    Benin: Preliminary Screening, Feasibility and Roads Prioritization Study
  • Schlepper am Pool Malebo
    Kongo: Stärkung der Binnenschiffahrt
  • ChutesDeZongo
    Kongobecken: Wasserinformationssystem
  • SugarCane
    Belize: Management-Informationssystem für die Zuckerrohrindustrie
  • 150421_Structure
    Palästinensische Autonomiegebiete: benchmarking der Wasserversorger
  • Rice Farmers
    Vietnam: Bewässerungs-Informationssystem
  • Companhia do Vanduzi
    Mosambik: ICT4Agriculture support in Contract Farming

Erfahrung und Kompetenzen

24

Länder

4

Kontinente

4

Sprachen

53

Internationale Projekte

Werkzeuge und Softskills

Die vielfältigen Projektziele der verschiedenen Fachbereichen fordern eine Kombination aus Softskills und Fachexpertise.  Modernes Informationsmanagement ist ohne IT-Lösungen nicht denkbar. So sind Geoinformationssysteme bei Ressourcenkonflikten unentbehrlich um Verständnis für räumliche Zusammenhänge vermittel zu können. Datenbanken und Dokumentenmanagementsysteme erleichtern den Zugriff aud die immer größer werdende Informationsvielfalt. Decision-Support-Systeme und Management-Informationssysteme unterstützen die Arbeit der Entscheider.

Partizipativer Ansatz und Dialog vor und während der Entwicklung helfen, den Mensch frühzeitig in die zukünftige Nutzung der Systeme einzubinden. Letztlich müssen Menschen mit den IT-Systemen umgehen und kommunizieren können. Der Wille, Informationen zu teilen und gemeinsam einen Mehrwert zu generieren, ist Grundvoraussetzung für jedes Informationssystem.

Informationsmanagement0
Stakeholderdialog0
IT-Entwicklung0
Geoinformatik und Kartografie0
RalphElsaesser2015

Kontaktieren Sie mich

Dr. Dipl.-Ing. Dipl.-Geol. Ralph Elsäßer

Informieren Sie sich über meine Projekte, fragen Sie meinen CV an oder kontaktieren Sie mich über das Kontaktformular. Ich freue mich über jede Zusammenarbeit.

KONTAKT

Auftraggeber

Internationale und Nationale Organisationen

Consultingfirmen